[MP3] This Will Destroy You- “Communal Blood”

I’ve been a fan of Texan post-rock four piece, This Will Destroy You, ever since I heard “Burial On the Presidio Banks,” a track off their self-titled album, on an Explosions in the Sky themed radio station on Pandora a few years back.   Like all (or most) post-rock, the song started off slow, and gradually built towards its climax, before ultimately coming back down.  I liked the song so much that, I remember buying both their Young Mountain EP, and self-titled album that same day. That was three years ago, and ever since then I’ve been waiting for a new album from the quartet.

Thankfully, I won’t have to wait much longer.  On May 10 (my birthday!) the Texan quartet will release Tunnel Blanket, the follow-up to their 08 self-titled album, via their new home Suicide Squeeze. That’s the album art above, and the tracklist below.

1. Little Smoke
2. Glass Realms
3. Communal Blood
4. Reprise
5. Killed the Lord, Left
for the New World
6. Osario
7. Black Dunes
8. Powdered Hand

You can also download the eight minute and change journey that is “Communal Blood” below.

[MP3] This Will Destroy You-  Communal_Blood

My birthday is already shaping up to be a good one.