[MP3] M83- “Midnight City”

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve been waiting for this moment. The moment where I’d be perusing my blogroll, and see NEW M83 with the word MP3 next to it. I’ve been a fan of Anthony Gonzales’ work since 03′ when I first heard “Run Into Flowers” off Dead Cities, Red Seas, & Lost Ghosts on some magazine comp.

Since then, I’ve been picking up every release he’s put out. My favorite being, Before the Dawn Heals Us, which was, almost, the namesake of this blog. As you can see, I went with the Brendan Canning inspired, and all-encompassing name, Something for All of Us instead.

Random trivia aside; “Midnight City” is our first taste of the forthcoming DOUBLE album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming (out 10/18 via Mute). And it’s awesome. There’s this swirl and sparkle to it. Not to mention it features a sax. An instrument that seems to be of norm this year (see: Destroyer, Lady Gaga, and Bon Iver)

As far as Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming: It’s apparently “a reflection of [Gonzales] 30 years of being a human being.” In other words, it’s “a retrospective of [himself].” The double album features Medicine’s Brad Laner on guitar, Saturdays=Youth vocalist Morgan Kibby (who has a band called White Sea), and a guest spot from Zola Jesus.

Check out “Midnight City” below, as well as Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’s tracklist.

[MP3] M83- Midnight City

01 “Intro” (Feat. Zola Jesus)
02 “Midnight City”
03 “Reunion”
04 “Where the Boats Go”
05 “Wait”
06 “Raconte-Moi Histoire”
07 “Train to Pluton”
08 “Claudia Lewis”
09 “This Bright Flash”
10 “When Will You Come Home?”
11 “Soon, My Friend”

01 “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea”
02 “New Map”
03 “OK Pal”
04 “Another Wave From You”
05 “Splendor”
06 “Year One, One UFO”
07 “Fountains”
08 “Steve McQueen”
09 “Echoes of Mine”
10 “Klaus I Love You”
11 Outro”