Death Cab for Cutie Announce New Album Kintsugi

Death Cab for Cutie-Kintsugi


Something For All of Us favorites, Death Cab for Cutie, have announced details of their  upcoming album Kintsugi. Set for a release on March 31, via Atlantic, Kintsugi marks the first studio album to come out following the departure of founding member Chris Walla. Walla contributed to the album before leaving, and apparently inspired the aptly titled album. In case you’re wondering: Kintsugi is a style of Japanese art where broken ceramics are fixed using resin that’s been mixed with precious metals.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Ben Gibbard sees the departure as “an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member. It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love Transatlanticism or We Have the Facts… or Narrow Stairs. And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.”

I’m looking forward to hearing the end result.  That’s the album art above, and the track list below.


01 No Room in Frame
02 Black Sun
03 The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
04 Little Wanderer
05 You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
06 Hold No Guns
07 Everything’s a Ceiling
08 Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
09 El Dorado
10 Ingénue
11 Binary Sea